Pages: 1 2 3 ... 25
Send Topic Print
(Read 56469 times)
Mrs REMK
God Member

arohanui
Dukan Diet
Jul 28th, 2010, 9:45pm

I started this diet two days ago.... and whilst I'm lying here feeling like a meat gut sloth, I thought I'd see if there's anyone else out there suffering through this.

ALLEGEDLY it's wonderfully successful.

Given that I'm a doctor, I can see the glaring holes in the theory.

The way it works is you spend 7-10 days eating only lean protein, eggs and oatbran, and drinking 2l of water a day. (lean protein = lean meats, seafood, diet yoghurt, light cheese e.g. ricotta, quark, and skim milk).
NOTHING else (including vegetables, which every other diet on the planet allows!)

Then after that you alternate protein only days with days that allow green vegetables for a further 7-10 days.

Then after that you continue to eat the lean protein and vegetables 6 days a week, with only lean protein 1 day a week, and two "anything" meals a week (where you can finally have some alcohol).

Phew. It's very complicated and not that convincing. I doubt I'll last that long... the meat gut is killing me!

IP Logged

MF+MJ
Ex Member

Re: Dukan Diet
Reply #1 - Jul 28th, 2010, 10:28pm

God that sounds absolutely horrendous. I suppose it's aim is to send your body into ketosis (prob spelled that wrong) and you would just start losing muscle mass which most people would see as numbers on the scale rather than what it really is.

IP Logged

Mrs E
God Member

OMT!

Reply #2 - Jul 28th, 2010, 10:36pm

Yuck, I can't imagine eating protein for seven days straight with no veges or fruit ... it almost sounds like it would send your body into overload!

I'd be interested to know how you go, but I'm always very wary of diets that disallow certain foods.

IP Logged

Forever ET
God Member

27/11/2010. Kumeu Valley
Estate
Auckland
Reply #3 - Jul 28th, 2010, 10:41pm

Haha sounds like my dinner at Wildfire the other night - i swear i had a meat hangover the next day haha...